Skip to Main Content

Premier's Reading Challenge: PRC Rules

How many books you need to read




Number of books you must read Minimum number of PRC books Maximum number of Personal Choice books PRC booklists you can read from
K-2 30 25 5 K-2, 3-4, 5-6
3-4 20 15 5 3-4, 5-6, 7-9
5-6 20 15 5 5-6, 7-9
7-9 20 15 5 5-6, 7-9


1. The Challenge opens on 1 March 2021. You must complete your online Student Reading Record by 20 August 2021 (11:59 pm) to complete the Challenge.

2. You must read a certain number of books to complete the Challenge. Please refer to the Booklists page for more information. 

3. Books you read after the Challenge closes can count towards the next year's Challenge. 

4a. K-2 Challenge: you can read books on your own, read them with someone else, or someone can read them to you.
4b. 3-4, 5-6 and 7-9 challenges: you must read books on your own, but someone can help you choose them. 

5. In an approved series on the PRC booklist, you can read any three books as PRC books. You can read up to five other books from the same series as Personal Choice books. 

6a. K-2 Challenge: you can read books or have them read to you in your home language.
6b. 3-4, 5-6 and 7-9 Challenges: you must read all PRC books in English. You may read Personal Choice books in your home language.

7a. K-2 students only - If you can read simple chapter books on your own, you can attempt the 3-4 Challenge. You need to get your Student Reading Record changed to Challenge level 3-4. See your PRC coordinator for help with this. 
7b. 3-4, 5-6 and 7-9 students only: students with special needs who would experience difficulty completing the challenge at their grade-appropriate level can take part in the 3-9 Challenge. Students on the 3-9 Challenge level will complete the challenge by reading 20 books from any challenge level (including K-2) with whatever levels of support are appropriate to their needs. PRC coordinators should submit requests for changes to the 3-9 challenge by 31 July. 

8. 3-4, 5-6, 7-9 students only - If your teacher thinks you need extra help, you can listen to unabridged audio versions of the books as long as you read along.

9. If you complete your online Student Reading Record by 20 August 2021, and it is validated by your school by 3 September (11:59 pm), you will be eligible for a PRC certificate in Term 4.

10. The certificates you can receive for completing the Challenge are shown in the table on the left.

11a. You can only receive one certificate each year.
11b. Students in year 10 in 2021 are able to participate in the Challenge. If they did not complete the Challenge in 2020 and would have received a medal if they had, they will become eligible for a PRC medal in 2021 upon successfully completing the Challenge. Students who received a medal in 2020 will receive a certificate for successfully completing the Challenge in 2021 but will not receive an additional medal. 

 Gold and Platinum certificates will be sent to your school in Term 4 with students' names printed. Your school is responsible for downloading and printing your Challenge Completion Certificate from the PRC website.

13. Your school needs to make sure your parent or carer knows that by entering the Challenge, you may receive a PRC certificate with your name and school printed. The Premier's Reading Challenge no longer lists student names on an Honour Roll, however there may be opportunities for students to be recognised through media publications or through the school's own newsletters and communications. No student names and/or details will be published publicly without prior consent from parents/ carers. 


Year of completing PRC  Award received 
 First year  Challenge completion certificate
 Second year  Challenge completion certificate
 Third year  Challenge completion certificate
 Fourth year  Gold certificate
 Fifth year  Challenge completion certificate
 Sixth year  Challenge completion certificate
 Seventh year  Platinum certificate
 Eight year  Challenge completion certificate
 Ninth year  Challenge completion certificate
 Tenth year  Challenge completion certificate
 Every year from Year 3 to Year 9 (inclusive). 
Therefore only Year 9 students are eligible.