Explore ideas and artworks from different cultures and times, including artwork by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists, to use as inspiration for their own representations.
Elaborations
Explore the relationship between subject, artist and audience through portraiture.
Investigate image, identity and representation by exploring significant portraits in the collection of one of Australia’s most important art museums – the National Gallery of Victoria.
This is an interactive resource that focuses on a visit to the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) with an alien character to explore selected two-dimensional and three-dimensional exhibits by famous artists including Vincent Van Gogh, Frida Kahlo, Polly Apfelbaum, Romare Bearden and Umberto Boccioni. By selecting artworks visitors can learn about the artists, their techniques and inspirations, and engage in activities through interactive icons titled Tools; Listen; Look; Words; About; and Idea, which includes ideas to create your own artworks.
In this teaching unit, students explore the communication of cultural meaning through found objects and surface manipulation. They make, display and discuss their own and others artworks. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
This is a series of PDF and multimedia resources that illustrate and interpret examples of Asian art. Intended primarily for teachers of Foundation through to year 10, the series consists of c.45 two-page PDFs with text and images that include paintings, ceramics, textiles, and sculptures, and 11 multimedia resources that include interactives, videos, panoramas, and zoomable images. The series is grouped by country and by theme such as stories in art (years F to 4), philosophy and belief (5-8) and power and politics (9-10). Accompanying the resources are a timeline and map, an extensive list of further references and a 20-page teacher booklet with pedagogical suggestions.
Visual storytelling is one of the oldest forms of storytelling. In this resource you’ll enlist a range of art forms including song, dance, drama, mime, craft, sign language and visual arts to tell a story.
This database features a selection of Australian artworks from QAGOMA. The searchable database provides artwork images, background information about the artist and the artwork, classroom activities, a glossary of key terms and curriculum alignment information for teachers. Search results can be refined by theme, period, art form and genre. Selected artworks can be bookmarked for later reference.
In this teaching unit, students explore the pattern, texture and shape of their local environment. They will make, display and discuss their own and others artworks. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts
This is an online module consisting of teacher notes, three stimulus resources and student activities that explore Bunraku puppets and performances. The teacher notes provide background information about Bunraku puppetry, additional online resources and pedagogical advice. The stimulus resources consist of background information, images and vidoes of Bunraku performance and puppets, and instructions for making and performing with Bunraku puppets. The activities provide students with the opportunity to learn about Bunraku puppetry, to make puppets, to learn how to move them and to create a puppet performance.
This federated search from the QAGOMA database features a selection of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artworks from the collection. The searchable database provides artwork images, background information about the artist and the artwork, a map of major Indigenous regions in Australia, classroom activities, a glossary of key terms and curriculum alignment information for teachers. Search results can be refined by region, theme, period, art form and genre. Selected artworks can be bookmarked for later reference.
Explore eight interactive activities inspired by works in the collection of the National Gallery of Art, Washington USA. Investigate visual conventions and understand more about design elements and principles through artistic play. A range of portrait, landscape, still-life and abstract paintings.Free when reviewed 26/5/2015.
In this teaching unit,explore through the manipulation of visual language to represent human connections to imagined environments inspired by real places. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
This is an online module consisting of teacher notes, three stimulus resources and student activities that explore wayang kulit puppetry and performances. The teacher notes provide background information about wayang puppetry and performances, additional online resources and pedagogical advice. The stimulus resources consist of background information and images of wayang puppets and performances and instructions for making wayang kulit and golek puppets. The activities provide students with the opportunity to learn about wayang performances, explore its role in Indonesian society, make and evaluate either wayang kulit or golek puppets and perform a wayang play.