LibGuides: Upper Primary Art: ACAVAM116

ACAVAM116

Plan the display of artworks to enhance their meaning for an audience.

Elaborations

identifying reasons for the range of audience interpretations of the same artwork, for example, Considering viewpoints or the conceptual approach of the artwork
Considering viewpoints – histories: For example – What did the artist want the audience to see and understand?
recognising and evaluating how culture, gender, age, time and place, among other factors, impact on how an audience reads an artwork, for example, comparing the response of different age groups
Considering viewpoints – societies and cultures: For example – What clues in the artwork tell us where it was made, who made it, and why? What artworks are you familiar with? Which style of artwork represents your community? How would you represent your neighbourhood?
reflecting critically on how effectively their ideas or feelings have been expressed in their own artworks, and that of others
Considering viewpoints – skills, techniques and processes: For example – How did the artist work within a space, and at this time? How have they innovated their practice?
presenting their artworks using internet-based technologies, including social media

Celebration of culture

This is an interactive resource in which students in the primary years make a virtual museum exhibit of four cultural objects. They choose a level of difficulty (easy or hard), explore three collections of cultural objects - from China, Italy and Papua New Guinea - and select a subject for their exhibit from four options: parties and activities, clothing and accessories, music and dance, and ornaments and decorations. When designing their exhibit, students write labels for the objects and select how they will be displayed. The exhibit can be printed and comprehensive teachers' notes are available.

Through my own eyes: a self-portrait

This resource for teachers is a visual arts unit that leads to a resolved two-dimensional self-portrait on paper. The unit combines the techniques of drawing and painting and explores the concept of a personal environment. It is in four parts: exploring examples of portraits by artists across history; developing line-drawn abstracted symbols and a self-portrait; skills and techniques in painting, colour mixing and the use of warm, cool, analogous and complementary colour schemes; and resolving the artwork. This resource includes links to images, galleries and further information.

Visual art starters: sustain your art

This is a resource about using clean waste materials to create artworks that promote sustainability. It begins with a video featuring contemporary visual artist Ash Keating discussing his commitment to sustainability and describing three of his artworks. The resource contains three teacher-guided learning activities: Ash Keating – Visual artist (one lesson); Waste and sustainability (one lesson); and Waste of space (four lessons). Supporting the activities are three activity sheets - Artist as Activist, What Waste! and Waste of Space; images of Keating's three works; a glossary; and detailed teacher notes including extension activities and safety considerations.

Grand shelter designs

In this teaching unit, students explore the design process by identifying a need then designing a product which will enhance school engagement/ interaction/ purpose. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.

The animal within

In this teaching unit, students focus on representation of animals as companion, metaphor, and predator. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.

Say it with art

In this teaching unit, students explore recontextualisation of objects and non-traditional art materials to communicate ideas. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.