Identify intended purposes and meanings of artworks using visual arts terminology to compare artworks, starting with visual artworks in Australia including visual artworks of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples.
Elaborations
This is a rich resource about the importance of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' communities and identities. It consists of an introduction; a teacher guide; a film, 'My people, the Karajarri people', made by Wynston Shoveller about the Mowla Bluff massacre in the Kimberley region in 1916; and a video interview with Sunno Mitchell about the importance of language for the Paakantji people. The teacher guide contains viewing and discussion points and suggested activities. It provides a link, usually via an interactive map, to four other films, 'Djulpan', 'Miiku and Tinta', 'The story of Girbar' and 'Dhuwa Yirritja'.
This is a painting made in 1850 by Australian colonial artist Alexander Schramm depicting Kaurna people, sheltering under gum trees in Adelaide parkland. The painting is shown as an enlargeable image and in a video. Text onscreen gives information on Schramm’s life and practice as he is known for his sympathetic representation of Aboriginal people during colonial times. The video soundtrack provides visual analysis, discussing the narrative detail of the painting representing Aboriginal people immersed in their daily lives. The painting measures 86.7 cm high x 130.2 cm wide and was painted with oil on canvas.
In this teaching unit,explore through the manipulation of visual language to represent human connections to imagined environments inspired by real places. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
These are the stories of five different Colonial women, Trukanini, Theresa Sutcliffe Mort, Mary Windeyer, Caroline Chisholm and Lola Montez. Hear their stories and look at their portraits at the National Portrait Gallery.
This is a shell necklace (c1920) made by an unknown Aboriginal artist from the Tasmanian region of Cape Barren Island. The necklace is shown as an enlargeable image and in a video. Text onscreen gives information about the history and importance of shell necklaces, representative of much more than simple decorative art. The video soundtrack affirms its importance as a symbol of the Tasmanian Aboriginal community, and the strength of their traditions. The shell necklace is 140.0 cm long and is made out of green maireener shells and thread.
In this teaching unit, students explore the pattern, texture and shape of their local environment. They will make, display and discuss their own and others artworks. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts
This is a painting by Anmatyerr artist Clifford Possum Tjapaltjarri depicting the ancestral narrative of Lungkata the Blue-Tongued Lizard, who punished his two sons because they had broken the law by eating the sacred kangaroo. The painting is shown as an enlargeable image and in a video. Text onscreen gives information on the Papunya artists and the challenges they faced when producing art for the public domain. The video soundtrack provides strong visual analysis, exploring the ancestral being and Dreaming stories presented. The painting measures 61.0 cm high x 43.0 cm wide and was painted using synthetic polymer paint on composition board.
This is an online module consisting of teacher notes, three stimulus resources and student activities that explore wayang kulit puppetry and performances. The teacher notes provide background information about wayang puppetry and performances, additional online resources and pedagogical advice. The stimulus resources consist of background information and images of wayang puppets and performances and instructions for making wayang kulit and golek puppets. The activities provide students with the opportunity to learn about wayang performances, explore its role in Indonesian society, make and evaluate either wayang kulit or golek puppets and perform a wayang play.
In this teaching unit, students explore the communication of cultural meaning through found objects and surface manipulation. They make, display and discuss their own and others artworks. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.