Present artworks and describe how they have used visual conventions to represent their ideas.
Elaborations
This is a large oil painting, measuring 124.5 cm x 88.7 cm, and painted by W C Piguenit (1836-1914) between 1899 and 1901. A mist has just lifted, revealing a sweeping panorama, all slick and shiny and wet in the early morning light. Beyond a foreground of rocks and tangled vegetation, a mirror-smooth river runs off into the distance towards dark, blue hills which are overhung with ragged clouds. A distant ship, a wharf and a shed are dwarfed by the dark cliffs and clouds.
Visual storytelling is one of the oldest forms of storytelling. In this resource you’ll enlist a range of art forms including song, dance, drama, mime, craft, sign language and visual arts to tell a story.
In this teaching unit, students explore the pattern, texture and shape of their local environment. They will make, display and discuss their own and others artworks. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts
This is an interactive resource that focuses on a visit to the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) with an alien character to explore selected two-dimensional and three-dimensional exhibits by famous artists including Vincent Van Gogh, Frida Kahlo, Polly Apfelbaum, Romare Bearden and Umberto Boccioni. By selecting artworks visitors can learn about the artists, their techniques and inspirations, and engage in activities through interactive icons titled Tools; Listen; Look; Words; About; and Idea, which includes ideas to create your own artworks.
This silver medal was engraved by Thomas Barrett, a convict on board the First Fleet transport vessel Charlotte, when the ship was anchored in Botany Bay in 1788. It is recognised as arguably the earliest example of Australian colonial art. One side of the medal depicts a fully rigged ship, sun on the horizon, moon and stars and bears the inscription 'The Charlotte at anchor in Botany Bay Jany. 20/1788.' The reverse is a diary account of the arduous voyage 'from England May 1787 to the Island of New Holland'.
This is an online resource that guides students through the process of creating individual hand drawings and bringing them together to create a collaborative artwork. It contains a video featuring teacher of visual arts and performing arts Cat Sewell outlining the steps involved; three activity sheets; and teacher notes that include extension activities and activities for other learning areas. The video and activity sheets provide guidelines and templates for both individual and group activities.
This federated search from the QAGOMA database features a selection of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artworks from the collection. The searchable database provides artwork images, background information about the artist and the artwork, a map of major Indigenous regions in Australia, classroom activities, a glossary of key terms and curriculum alignment information for teachers. Search results can be refined by region, theme, period, art form and genre. Selected artworks can be bookmarked for later reference.
In this teaching unit, students explore the communication of cultural meaning through found objects and surface manipulation. They make, display and discuss their own and others artworks. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
Explore the relationship between subject, artist and audience through portraiture.
Investigate image, identity and representation by exploring significant portraits in the collection of one of Australia’s most important art museums – the National Gallery of Victoria.
In this teaching unit,explore through the manipulation of visual language to represent human connections to imagined environments inspired by real places. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.