Explore ideas and practices used by artists, including practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists, to represent different views, beliefs and opinions.
Elaborations
This resource for teachers is a visual arts unit that leads to a resolved two-dimensional self-portrait on paper. The unit combines the techniques of drawing and painting and explores the concept of a personal environment. It is in four parts: exploring examples of portraits by artists across history; developing line-drawn abstracted symbols and a self-portrait; skills and techniques in painting, colour mixing and the use of warm, cool, analogous and complementary colour schemes; and resolving the artwork. This resource includes links to images, galleries and further information.
This is an interactive resource that focuses on a visit to the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) with an alien character to explore selected two-dimensional and three-dimensional exhibits by famous artists including Vincent Van Gogh, Frida Kahlo, Polly Apfelbaum, Romare Bearden and Umberto Boccioni. By selecting artworks visitors can learn about the artists, their techniques and inspirations, and engage in activities through interactive icons titled Tools; Listen; Look; Words; About; and Idea, which includes ideas to create your own artworks.
In this teaching unit, students focus on representation of animals as companion, metaphor, and predator. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
This is a rich resource about the importance of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' communities and identities. It consists of an introduction; a teacher guide; a film, 'My people, the Karajarri people', made by Wynston Shoveller about the Mowla Bluff massacre in the Kimberley region in 1916; and a video interview with Sunno Mitchell about the importance of language for the Paakantji people. The teacher guide contains viewing and discussion points and suggested activities. It provides a link, usually via an interactive map, to four other films, 'Djulpan', 'Miiku and Tinta', 'The story of Girbar' and 'Dhuwa Yirritja'.
This is a resource about using clean waste materials to create artworks that promote sustainability. It begins with a video featuring contemporary visual artist Ash Keating discussing his commitment to sustainability and describing three of his artworks. The resource contains three teacher-guided learning activities: Ash Keating – Visual artist (one lesson); Waste and sustainability (one lesson); and Waste of space (four lessons). Supporting the activities are three activity sheets - Artist as Activist, What Waste! and Waste of Space; images of Keating's three works; a glossary; and detailed teacher notes including extension activities and safety considerations.
This database features a selection of Australian artworks from QAGOMA. The searchable database provides artwork images, background information about the artist and the artwork, classroom activities, a glossary of key terms and curriculum alignment information for teachers. Search results can be refined by theme, period, art form and genre. Selected artworks can be bookmarked for later reference.
In this teaching unit, students explore recontextualisation of objects and non-traditional art materials to communicate ideas. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
The Orb is a collection of multimedia learning resources about Tasmanian Aboriginal histories and cultures. It explores the interconnections between people, Country, culture, identity, and the living community. The multimedia resources have between three and five sections in which Tasmanian Aboriginal people share their stories about Country, cultural resources and practices. Each section contains short video clips and pages that contain either; a quote and discussion questions, additional information, or investigations. A selection of teaching materials including; learning tasks, inquiry-based investigations and illustrations of practice extend student understanding of the concepts introduced within The Orb. These materials use Australian Curriculum achievement standards, content descriptors, general capabilities, and cross-curriculum priorities to support the planning, teaching and assessment of integrated units of work. It can be used across all learning areas and year groups.
This is an interactive resource that focuses on creating collage artworks using a library of five backgrounds and different shaped cut-outs, and applying various editing techniques such as changing the size and the position of the shape, the opacity of the shape, and using the draw function, layering and repitition. It also features examples of the works of famous artists such as Pablo Picasso, Kurt Schwitters, Sarah Lucas, Jacques de la Villegle, and Romare Bearden who have used similar techniques to create well-known artworks.
In this teaching unit, students explore the design process by identifying a need then designing a product which will enhance school engagement/ interaction/ purpose. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
This federated search from the QAGOMA database features a selection of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artworks from the collection. The searchable database provides artwork images, background information about the artist and the artwork, a map of major Indigenous regions in Australia, classroom activities, a glossary of key terms and curriculum alignment information for teachers. Search results can be refined by region, theme, period, art form and genre. Selected artworks can be bookmarked for later reference.
Teachers can explore the diverse range of traditional and contemporary Aboriginal visual arts through this unique online resource portal. Investigate the work of peak Aboriginal arts corporations, protocols and online collections of some of Australia’s leading cultural institutions.