Use materials, techniques and processes to explore visual conventions when making artworks.
Elaborations
This is an online resource that guides students through the process of creating individual hand drawings and bringing them together to create a collaborative artwork. It contains a video featuring teacher of visual arts and performing arts Cat Sewell outlining the steps involved; three activity sheets; and teacher notes that include extension activities and activities for other learning areas. The video and activity sheets provide guidelines and templates for both individual and group activities.
Explore the relationship between subject, artist and audience through portraiture.
Investigate image, identity and representation by exploring significant portraits in the collection of one of Australia’s most important art museums – the National Gallery of Victoria.
Explore eight interactive activities inspired by works in the collection of the National Gallery of Art, Washington USA. Investigate visual conventions and understand more about design elements and principles through artistic play. A range of portrait, landscape, still-life and abstract paintings.Free when reviewed 26/5/2015.
In this teaching unit,explore through the manipulation of visual language to represent human connections to imagined environments inspired by real places. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
This is a set of seven pedagogical activities based on the Museum of Queensland's online learning resource 'Celebration of culture'. The activities include: a science and technology activity - Raising silkworms; a visual arts activity - Making a Chinese dragon; a literature activity - reading the poem The silkworms; a music and dance activity to accompany the song I am Australian; a cooking activity - Food fest; a physical education activity - Italian bocce; and a history/visual literacy activity about Chinese and Afghan migrants to Queensland.
Visual storytelling is one of the oldest forms of storytelling. In this resource you’ll enlist a range of art forms including song, dance, drama, mime, craft, sign language and visual arts to tell a story.
In this teaching unit, students explore the communication of cultural meaning through found objects and surface manipulation. They make, display and discuss their own and others artworks. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts.
This is an online module consisting of teacher notes, three stimulus resources and student activities that explore Bunraku puppets and performances. The teacher notes provide background information about Bunraku puppetry, additional online resources and pedagogical advice. The stimulus resources consist of background information, images and vidoes of Bunraku performance and puppets, and instructions for making and performing with Bunraku puppets. The activities provide students with the opportunity to learn about Bunraku puppetry, to make puppets, to learn how to move them and to create a puppet performance.
In this sequence of lessons, students will learn about the Impressionist painters' use of colour and how it connected to early-19th-century scientific theories about colour. They will explore combinations of primary and secondary colours, experiment creating secondary colours, and create a landscape using complementary colours.
This is an online module consisting of teacher notes, three stimulus resources and student activities that explore wayang kulit puppetry and performances. The teacher notes provide background information about wayang puppetry and performances, additional online resources and pedagogical advice. The stimulus resources consist of background information and images of wayang puppets and performances and instructions for making wayang kulit and golek puppets. The activities provide students with the opportunity to learn about wayang performances, explore its role in Indonesian society, make and evaluate either wayang kulit or golek puppets and perform a wayang play.
In this teaching unit, students explore the pattern, texture and shape of their local environment. They will make, display and discuss their own and others artworks. The package includes a unit plan, topic outlines and a slideshow to help teachers unpack the content. It also includes resources, an assessment task with a guide to making judgments, a model response and teacher tips. This unit is one in a complete set of units for Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) The Arts: Visual Arts